My Mom’s Closet in Smorgasburg

style, travels

Last week, my friends and I took a day trip to the wondrous NYC. You know, as often as I’ve visited, I could never get enough of it. The only downside to the trip was that the weather was pretty depressing and it actually started pouring right when we were about to leave.  However, the show must go on.

Because the forecast called for rain and high of 60 something degrees, I knew to wear pants and a jacket.  I decided to sport some pieces from my mom’s closet that she gave me.  Her vintage Gap denim jacket is a staple in my wardrobe and her paisley pants are from H&M.  To balance out the print on the pants, I paired it with a plain grey tee with matching grey oxfords by the brand, Bar III from Macy’s.

012          Snapchat-9066452884037515595

While in New York, we hit up MOMA, the museum of modern art, and Smorgasburg.  What’s a Smorgasburg you ask?  It’s the (emphasis on the) ultimate food festival in Brooklyn.  I’ve been there once before, but I only tried one Japanese dish, takoyaki.  This time, we made sure to try an assortment of the foods Smorgasburg had to offer.

One thing I’ve always wanted to try was drinking out of a coconut.  Although I can’t get past that weird taste from Vita Coco coconut water, I can’t help but be curious to taste how fresh coconut water tastes like.  I’ll admit, it just looks awesome holding a freaking coconut.  It definitely tasted so much better than that packaged coconut water, it was light and sweet and actually delicious.

Snapchat-206095634755091546

Next stop, my friends saw a few of their acquaintances and they told us which food vendor to go to that’s actually worth getting.  After taking their advice, we got the Scottish eggs which are the BEST eggs you’ll ever have once you try it.  The egg is battered in this thick crust and deep fried.  The egg was perfectly cooked as it was slightly runny.  Just the way I like.  Then it’s smothered in a chipotle sauce and because that wasn’t spicy enough, we added sriracha sauce on top.  Then, we hit up Goa Tacos (sadly, it’s not pictured here).  You know when the cooks are so serious about their food when they roast their pork out in the front and make their own homemade tortillas.  It was hands down, the best vendor we’ve been to.  We tried their short rib tacos and the tortilla was flaky and slightly thicker than a regular soft tortilla.  The beef was juicy and paired with a lightly pickled cole slaw and a spicy sauce.

Snapchat-1154747963171953344Snapchat-716122798494233611

We then tried these chicken adobo nachos and honestly, you could never go wrong with nachos.  The guac was especially delicious and fresh and the chicken had a nice kick to it as it was spicy and smokey.  While I was in line for the bacon bleu cheese sandwich, my friends picked up a few other foods.  The mofongo looked too enticing because it had plantains and plantains are yummy.  We’ve never tried mofongo before, so we didn’t know what to expect but the soup had a nice flavor that kinda reminds me of tortilla soup.  It had tender chicken in it and was topped with a few chicharones (fried pork rinds).  We also tried out these chipotle aioli cheese curls which are basically fried pieces of cheese with chipotle sauce on the side.  It was good, but it wasn’t memorable.

Snapchat-4432547309290835903Snapchat-4815756988626039658Snapchat-7911450735952656164

I’d definitely recommend putting Smorgasburg on the list of things to do in NYC.  It’s a great way to try a variety of ethnic foods or to grab a lunch, especially when you don’t know what to crave for.  Price wise, its about $5-10 for each dish at most vendors.  *WARNING* Bring cash! They do NOT accept cards.  Besides the food, Smorgasburg is placed right by the Hudson river and you can overlook the skyline of the city.  Delicious food and a nice scenery, what more can you ask for?  Oh wait…maybe more outdoor seating.

Have you visited Smorgasburg yet? What other places do you recommend visiting in NYC?

Leave a comment